[eat] Bulgarian fare at Zelen @ Itaewon, Seoul

Some time one year ago, I went to Zelen to celebrate the birthday boy’s birthday. I know, I should have written about it earlier, but better late than never. So bear in mind that this review is for Zelen 1 year ago. I believe that nothing has changed much anyway. Zelen, as usual, must be thriving.
Soooooo Zelen is a super popular Balkan restaurant located in Itaewon and the other branch in Hannam-dong. I have just been to the one in Itaewon and the place was absolutely lovely. There were so many culinary options that it took us like 2163382832 minutes to figure out what we wanted. For appetizer, I went with my gut feelings that Stuffed tomatoes would look good in photo (excuse my shallowness) and here it came:


And it was quite nice. But it was because the stuffed cream cheese was good. (seriously, who doesn’t love cream cheese?) The tomatoes could be better aka less watery. In a nutshell, nice presentation, made great photos, not worth the price.

Complimentary bread:

For main course, we ordered Pile na Skara. Again, decent stuff. Chicken a bit too dry but the stuffing was very good.

Wish it hadn’t looked so gooey lol

Pork dish was Svinstro verteno. Best of the day, not worth the price. But I am not complaining. Most stuffs I have tried in fancy restaurants in Korea are never worth the price anyway.

Inside the restaurant, very tasteful indeed. I love the curtains.

Menu:






It was a nice experience, but I had hoped more from a restaurant with so many raving reviews. Maybe their other dishes are great, who knows. In any case, I will just stick to cheap eats, I guess. Maybe I’m cheap. Maybe I really am.

Zelen, Itaewon branch. Itaewon station exit 1

One thought on “[eat] Bulgarian fare at Zelen @ Itaewon, Seoul

Leave a Reply

