[eat] Shabu shabu at 뽕잎사랑 @ Sinchon, Seoul

I love the idea of hotpot: a big pot of boiling broth, a pile of veggies, and a heap of meat–what is there to not like? In Sinchon, there is one Chinese restaurant (authentically Chinese, as most staff there refuse to speak Korean lol) where they serve awesome hotpot at quite a steep price. I cannot afford to go to such places all the time so looking for a substitute is a must. Thanks to Korean food blogs, I came across this often mentioned name 뽕잎사랑 (Ppoingip Sarang)–a shabu shabu restaurant. Although I believe that the ultimate beauty of hot pot can only be found in the Chinese version, for the time being, shabu shabu is not too bad a choice. Plus the price is also a bonus. That’s why yesterday my friend and I dropped into 뽕잎사랑 for dinner.


Let’s get it straight: the only thing I loved was the fried rice at the end of the meal, but I didn’t hate anything about it. At 9000 KRW per head, I didn’t set my expectations high anyway. I am not going there again, not because I disliked the food, but because it was mediocre. However, if somebody ask me for a cheap shabu shabu place in Sinchon, I won’t hesitate to direct them here.

I won’t say anything about this because it didn’t inspire me. It was a fine dinner, I repeat. But it was one of many dinners I have had, and will forget.

Salad:

Veggies:

Beef:

Noodles:

Rice–actually this was the stuff that drew me to this place. I love fried rice.

The spicy broth was VERY spicy by the way:

Table:

Menu:

We chose the 9000 KRW option, the 7000 KRW uses mushroom instead of beef so it can be an option for vegetarians.





Interior:

뽕잎사랑 Sinchon branch, Sinchon station exit 2.

7 thoughts on “[eat] Shabu shabu at 뽕잎사랑 @ Sinchon, Seoul

Leave a Reply

