[eat] Uzbekistani & Kazakhstan food @ Dongdaemun, Seoul

I have been updating my blog with reviews about good restaurants so far, but truth is, on my daunting food adventure, I have had fair share of mediocre, and sometimes bad food. To be honest, I am not quite sure if I should write about such experiences, but I am sure that it is very frustrating when you are all happy and ready for some great eats only to feel disappointed, annoyed, or even disgusted by them.
This post starts my series of “let’s bitch about bad restaurants”; the targets of grumbling are Fusion & Kazakhstan, both located at the “Little Russia” in Dongdaemun, Seoul.


The above picture does not look bad at all, and this dish was fine. I had high hopes for Fusion–an Uzbekistani restaurant–because the two times I had tried Uzbek fare before at My friend and ala-too and Samarkand Kafe had been fabulous. Though I must give credits to Fusion’s super tasty Plov (the ‘fried’ rice dish), and keep a blind eye on the mediocre Julien (a dish of beef, mushroom, fried potato all stir fried together), it is their shashlik that deeply disappointed me.

Plov–very very tasty. The meat on top was incredibly succulent. Comparable to that at My Friend and Ala-too and Samarkand Kafe, which makes me wonder if one can never go wrong with this dish at all.

Julien–mediocre. I liked the idea of it (beef–check, mushroom–check, fried potato–check, cheese–double check) but was not sure about how it was executed. There was not enough beef, and the potatoes were undercooked. The mushroom cubes, however, were plentiful and juicy.

The black hole of the show: lamb shashlik. This skewer costed my friend 6000 KRW!!! The usual price at other restaurants is 3000-3500 KRW… The meat was dry, and had gone bad (it tasted and smelt sour). It didn’t even look good.

My verdict: stay away from this. Although I loved my Plov, the shashlik was a total put off. How can you recommend a place where they serve SOUR MEAT to other people?

In case you still want to go, here is the menu:







Fusion: Dongdaemun History and Culture Park exit 5. Walk across the street and Fusion should be right in front of you, it is on the second floor.

—–

Perhaps I had an even bigger disappointment at Kazakhstan restaurant. As its name indicates, the place is specialized in Kazakhstan’s fare. Our dinner was so disappointing that I didn’t bother taking more than 2 pictures of each dish.

We wanted to order the lamb shashlik but they didn’t have them then. Like WTF -.-‘ Disappointedly, we ordered a plate of Naryn (noodles cooked with horse meat) out of curiosity. What we had was a sad mixture of lukewarm noodles (apparently not microwaved long enough lol) and dry meat. I bet that the meat must have come from a very active horse, because it was chewy to the point of being inedible.

Goloobtsy (cabbage rolls) was okay. But after all, how can you fuck Goloobtsy up? It is just so simple. However, given the price (8000 KRW for 2 rolls), it was not worth it.

Can I get more meat please thank you.

The Turkish breads were horrible. There, I said it, they were horrible. They were rock-hard, flavorless, and impossible to chew. Couldn’t believe how and why they could serve this kind of food.

Menu:



My advice is that you should stay away from this place. Or if you want to break up with your boy/girlfriend, you can take him/her here, order the Turkish bread and tell him/her: Our relationship is just as dry and dull as this bread.

Kazakhstan is near Gostiniy Dvor. Please find the direction in that post… Guess what, just head to Gostiniy Dvor, seriously.

6 thoughts on “[eat] Uzbekistani & Kazakhstan food @ Dongdaemun, Seoul

  1. Haha the part with breaking up and taking the bread as reference is great!
    I think it’s also a part of restaurant reviews to write about the places and the food there you did’t enjoy so others know what to avoid :)

  2. interesting.. i once sorta wondered about food from Uzbekistan/Russia… i have tried bread once from uzbekistan and it is indeed rock-hard and quite tasteless..

Leave a Reply

