[cafe] Sesame patbingsu and more at Cafe 129-11 @ Yonhui-dong, Seoul

Just when I found a perfect cafe for me to chill/study for the rest of my time here in Korea, the semester ended and I will soon be on the (red, cramped, failed AirAsia) plane to Tokyo >.> After staying in Japan for 1 week, I head to Hong Kong, then Vietnam, then the Netherlands for one year. That said, I don’t have much time left in Korea, but worry not, because my friends, who have been going out with me and are all too familiar with my blog affair, will continue to eat out and contribute to this blog. I, of course, will certainly update with all the good and bad eats in Hong Kong, Vietnam, and Europe.

Anyway back to the cafe story. The name is 129-11, Cafe 129-11. Weird name, but the place is absolutely pretty and some foods on offer are quite great.


Black sesame ice flakes (10000 KRW). Though I am still strongly committed to the belief that no patbingsu can be better than that at Homilbat, Cafe 129-11’s comes very close. The black sesame gave our icy dessert a nutty, aromatic flavor.

This bowl can easily be fulfilling for two:

All day sandwich & Americano set (10000 KRW). The sandwich filing was okay, but the croissant was really good.


The Choco fudge (8000 KRW) was excellent. Sweet, smooth, creamy, with a crunchy kick from the Oreo crumbs on top:


Hot Caffe Latte (6000 KRW)

French toast (10000 KRW). This seems to be a very popular item:

Impressive exterior:


The cafe is divided into 3 parts, one exclusively for studying, one for whatever people do when they go to a cafe, and the outside patio.

I am especially fond of the study area. Each seat is divided into a neat “cubicle”. There are a lamp and 3 sockets on each table to charge your computer.





The other part of the cafe =} I remember one day when this area got packed and people wanted to invade the study area, but the staff didn’t let anyone in *v*


Patio:

Menu:



Cafe 129-11 is, unfortunately, not near any subway station. The quickest way to get there is to get out of Sinchon station exit 2 and take a taxi (fare ~2500 KRW) to Seodaemun-gu, Yonhui-dong 129-11 (서대문구 연희동 129-11).

2 thoughts on “[cafe] Sesame patbingsu and more at Cafe 129-11 @ Yonhui-dong, Seoul

  1. Oh wow Japan Hong kong and the Netherlands! Can’t wait for your posts :)
    Will be hopefully next year in Japan and Hong kong so it would help me a lot :D

    Btw the patbingsu looks insanely good!

    • Hong Kong is marvelous ;A; I love it with a passion; I was there over winter break and was stuffed everyday ;A; And yes I hope that Japan would be terrific too.

      The patbingsu is awesome asdfghjk you will need patbingsu to survive the Korean heat!

Leave a Reply

