[travel] My day trip to Tokyo \(^∀^)メ(^∀^)ノ

As mentioned earlier, during my whirlwind day trip to Tokyo, I went to Asakusa & Sensoji Temple, took the Tokyo Cruise Ship to Hamarikyu gardens, and from there I took the subway to Zojoji Temple & Tokyo Tower, before heading to Shibuya and Harajuku. The Tokyo subway & railway systems are insane, so I had NO idea how I got from one place to another and chose to put all my trust in Mizza’s wonderful navigating experience xD Tokyo is such a huge city and has so much to see, and there is no way that my itinerary covered everything Tokyo has to offer. However, I hope that the following post and this one may give you some ideas in planning your trip to Tokyo, especially if you only have a day to spare.


I am staying with my friend in her dorm at Tsukuba University (Tsukuba station, the last station on Tsukuba Express line). It took me 44 minutes to get from Tsukuba to Asakusa station. A 5 minute walk from Asakusa station will lead you to the heart of Asakusa district, where Tokyo’s oldest temple Senso-ji is located. This is how the temple looked at 10am on Sunday:

There were thousands of people there, but nothing could affect the grandeur and magnificence of the place:


Really beautiful:



Next to Senso-ji is Asakusa Shrine, one of the most famous Shinto shrines in Tokyo:

Before praying at any Shinto Shrine, you are expected to cleanse yourself at the nearby purification fountain.

(nope I didn’t pray I just washed my hands :\ I am usually bad at praying/confessing.)

We walked around the temple for a little more….




before taking the Tokyo cruise ship (we chose Sumida River line / 720 yen). The 35-minute trip was a breeze, with calm waters & refreshing winds. We passed under beautiful bridges and got to see the vibrant Tokyo under the sun >v<

We got off at the Hama Rikyu gardens (entrance fee 240 yen) and spent 2-3 hours there walking around, enjoying the green, quiet, idyllic side of Tokyo:




Afar is the Tokyo Tower xD

Loved the contrast:


Of course I had to ruin the scenery with my presence:



As you can tell from the picture, the Tokyo Tower is not far away, and located right beneath the tower is the Buddhist Zojoji Temple. A quick subway ride and a 5 minute walk from Todai station led us to the entrance of the temple:

A wonderfully impressive one. I am so sorry that my lame photos do it no justice:



Jawdropping

A moment of silence at the nearby Unborn Children Garden, in which rows of stone statues represent the unborn children. The statues of the children are decorated by their parents with small clothing items & toys, as well as a gift to Jizo, the guardian of unborn children.

These hunting statues…

Walking out of the garden, we strolled towards the Tokyo tower and finally reached what is arguably the most recognizable sign of Tokyo:

Late afternoon is the perfect time to visit the bustling, rushed, dashing, groovy Shibuya. Who has never heard of the notorious Shibuya crossing? None, I believe kk

After our sushi dinner at Shibuya Mark City, Mizza took me to Harajuku. I really wanted to see Harajuku fashion, but somehow I didn’t get too see many ‘weird’ people =}} Not that I minded though, because Harajuku’s Kiddy Land, a gigantic 5-story toy store, immediately boosted my mood:

I have the pink bunny!!! And I love him so much xD His name is Thumper. Couldn’t believe that I could meet his friends here O(≧∇≦)O

(My pink guardian: Thumper the Lord of Hershey’s)

Snoopy town :D

Everything cuteeee



And of course in Harajuku, you are bound to see clothing stores like these…

My day trip (10am -> 8pm) was well spent, as I got to visit lots of interesting places and eat tons of great foods (´ ▽`).。o♡ I am not sure if I could have made it without my friend’s help & guidance, but I am certainly blessed to befriend such a great person like Mizza ♡o。.(✿ฺ。 ✿ฺ) That said, while it is not difficult to visit these famous places in one day, I believe that it would be much easier and less time-consuming if you go with someone who is experienced with Tokyo, who can actually understand Tokyo’s subway & railway maps, who knows which places to go and can tell you what food to eat ✿♥‿♥✿

4 thoughts on “[travel] My day trip to Tokyo \(^∀^)メ(^∀^)ノ

  1. AHHH THUMPER (is that the name of the bunny?) IS SOOOO CUTE I WANT ONE ;~; why can’t I just fly myself to Japan right now /sobs/

    and OMG hehehehe the Brown and Cony LINE dolls…hehehehehe I’ll give the Brown doll with *I love Cony* on it’s shirt to Siwon since he said he loves Brown character the most and I’ll give the Cony one to Yesung~ yes~ I’ll do that

    Thanks~ I enjoy sightseeing the scenery in the pictures~ can’t wait for next year already~ Now to the said homemade pancake~ *v*

  2. That’s why your username (LaCrymaMosa) was very familiar! Not to be stalker-ish, but I have seen it around Super Junior and TVXQ forums back in the day… Anyway, I’m looking forward to trying this itinerary when my friend and I visit Japan. This looks like a really feasible route, but I think what we should consider is the navigation. I’m not the best at it, but I’m pretty good. Still, it will be our first time in Japan, and as you have suggested, it’s always an advantage to have a local/someone who’s very familiar with the trains and subway. Question though, which of the two temples should I skip in case we really need to sacrifice one?

Leave a Reply

