[travel] Maastricht: first impression

Greetings from Maastricht–the capital of the province of Limburg, the birthplace of the European Union, of European citizenship, and of the euro. I remember reading about this city when I was 13 years old in my Geography text book and was fascinated by it. Little did I know that I would be here for real.

I took a 2-hour train ride from Utrecht to Maastricht, arriving at 5pm. The weather was fabulous so my friend took me out for a walk for a few hours before we headed back to her room to plan our travel itinerary tomorrow. Guess who is going to Brussels in 10 hours? xDDDDD But lemme share some snapshots of Maastricht today first.


View from my friend’s room lulz

The Meuse river and its many bridges…



Stunning view of the city from the bridge we took:

Yes I am a proper tourist:

We passed by Onze-Lieve-Vrouwewal on the way to Stadspark:


At Stadspark (City park) of Maastricht:


Gorgeous weather means lying on the grass:

looking at the sky~

After a good hour or so at the park, we headed back to the centre…

Maastricht central, at first glance, seems to be not as compact and densely populated as Utrecht. Streets seem wider and there seems to be fewer people. Of course, I will spend one more day in Maastricht to find out whether my first impressions are correct :)


Maastricht reflection:

Cool birds are cool:

Now it’s time to get back and get ready for our upcoming trip!

6 thoughts on “[travel] Maastricht: first impression

  1. Pingback: Portuguese, Polish workers exploited in the Netherlands | Dear Kitty. Some blog
  2. Pingback: Bonnefanten Museum @Maastricht [a fragmented picture show] | AGONY ART
  3. Pingback: Appreciating socks | perspectividee
  4. Pingback: Traveling Home | perspectividee

Leave a Reply

