[travel] Nothing more Dutch than this: 19 windmills from the 18th century @ Kinderdijk, The Netherlands

I randomly came across Kinderdijk–the UNESCO World Heritage windmill network–when searching for a quick weekend getaway from Utrecht. The place seemed to have everything I was looking for: 1. rural beauty, 2. windmills (I have lived in NL ~2 months but have seen only one windmill), 3. convenient location (as in I can take a direct bus from Utrecht Centraal). Though I spent >3 hours in total on bus #90 to get to Kinderkijk and back to Utrecht, I only stayed at Kinderdijk for less than 2 hours. I was in no rush, mind you. I was prepared to spend the whole day there… But it was only a huge field with windmills, streams, bushes, cows, healthy people engaging in all kinds of exercise, and tourists. I left Utrecht at 8:30am and came back at 1pm, thus if you are pressed for time yet still wanna take home some cool photos, Kinderdijk is ideal for a half-day trip from Utrecht.


The weather was just okay today. The sun didn’t really come out most of the time I was there, so my photos do look gloomy. I love turning bad things into worse, so I messed around with the pictures a bit to get some vintage, grungy, melancholic stuff xP

It was indeed an amazing place. Super Dutchie~

Windmill at its finest xD


Flawless beauty ;A;

Finally the sun came out…

but was quickly veiled under thick clouds…

Nevermind, I was in a vintage mode anyway:

You could see canola flowers here and there~



Or a cute scene like this:

Or something as serene as this:

A few snapshots before I left:


How to get to Kinderdijk from Utrecht Centraal Station: catch bus #90 (leaves every hour) at Bus Station West and get off at Bushalte Molenkade, Kinderdijk (fee: 7.72 euro with an OV-Chipcard). For more information you can use 9292.
Entrance to Kinderdijk is free but 6 euro is charged should you want to visit the museum.

Leave a Reply

